Skip navigation

tower of babel

4 years ago i drove into the heart of babylon.

i went unarmed, and unprotected.

and i was welcomed with open arms.

it took 4 years to get to the central staircase of what will become the new tower of babel.

and like the old tower, the peoples of the world will converge there one day.

the common languageย  will unite and bind all to the new babel.

hopefully we have learned from the mistakes of the past and this new tower of babel will out last us all.

the foundations of the new babylon have been laid down.

and today i took the first of many steps up the tower.

6 Comments

  1. Intriguing picture…. intriguing post ~ I wonder what it is you are really talking about (seems very symbolic).

    I wrote about the Tower of Babel in one of my fish tree tales ~ I called that place Eddie’s (and later, The Rink). Bars in Japan, but foreigners from all over the world were there on a regular basis. These places are smaller than my dining room table, so everyone got to know everyone else. And we were, for the most part, all speaking one language to each other.

    Japanese.

    It was very cool. Do you speak Japanese? Can you see the green glow of my envious skin from where you’re sitting?

    Oops, now I’m rambling. Sorry ’bout that. Must be the witching hour. And your intriguing piece of writing here.

  2. yeah i remember reading about eddies on your blog. sounds like a great place. i suppose eddies would be a literal version of a new babel.

    my new babel is both literal, in geography, and metaphorical (?) with the one common language being that of business, which is also what helped build the first tower and nimrod’s empire there.

    and no my japanese sucks ass. which should make for a very interesting trip to the land of the rising sun ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. It will be fun indeed. Very one-sided conversations…. ha ha! First time I went over, I knew numbers & colors. Hard to have a convo that way. “Six green, yellow. Three!” Well, there are a lot of good resources out there, if you want any suggestions I’ve got loads. My neatest trick for learning a foreign language the “quick & dirty” way ~ enough to get you basically functional ~ is to choose your most-used verbs & adjectives, a smattering of your most-used nouns, and at least piece those together. The Japanese are amazingly willing to encourage (and forgive?) any attempt with their language, so …. good luck!!

    And thanks for the explanation ~ business. I see.

  4. ah thats a good idea, i’ll have to think of what verbs i use the most. off the top of my head i cant think of anything,… except for where is the toilet? which i kind of know already.

    i’ve got a book i started reading so that should get me functional, and then i think i’ll do a class when i land.

    i think my problem is going to be that everyone i meet will want to practice their english ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Ah, yes. That’s… fun. Hey! You could pretend to be German! (that little trick only works until you run into the *gasp!* fluent German speaker! Yes, I speak from experience.) Except…. aren’t you of Japanese descent? That presents its own issues, doesn’t it? Last summer I remember trying to have a conversation with a man I believed to be Japanese, but he really struggled, but he also really wanted to talk with me. Finally he realized I thought he was Japanese. His ancestry was, but he was born & raised in Argentina! Stuff like that must have happened to you before…. yes? (“I’m full” ~ at least you know how to say that now!) ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. haha youre right, and having a transatlantic accent doesnt help much either.

    when i was at university in the uk a guy i had known for 3 years asks me when i’m going back to the states. and then when i’m in the states people ask me what part of england i’m from.

    i’m a geographical mess for people i meet for the first time ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

